6BT In A Cherokee.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6BT In A Cherokee.

Blew the T-case out of my jeep on the highway. Torque convertor was locked up at the time so it pretty much trashed my tranny as well. Motor still starts. I picked up another XJ that is now my dd (it's stock and simple) i kind of want to go big or go home with this jeep.

Was thinking about a 4BT, but the 6BT seems to be cheaper as they're easier to get a hold of.

I figure i'd have to plate the entire XJ unibody to support this motor. I figure it's a fucking heavy bastard as well. Think i'd be able to run it with a stock HP D30 front axle and XJ coils?

I am a total novice when it comes to these kind of things, but i am not dumb. I can research things and figure them out as problems arise and ask you guys.

Anyways here are a few of my questions;

1. I think i want a 12v mechanical 6BT. Correct? Is there any 6BT i should stay away from? Which should i buy? Price estimate?

2. If i got a 6BT i'd need a tranny for it. I believe the NV4500 is what most people run behind it. Is that a manual or auto tranny?

3. Lets say i put the NV4500 behind it. What would i put behind that? Would a jeep T-case bolt up or would there simply be too much power going through the driveline and that T-case would get totally trashed?

4. Lets say i put whatever T-case normally mates to the NV4500 behind it. How would i get the yoke on the T-case to line up with the yoke on the driveshaft? I feel like the NV4500 T-case would be wider and wouldn't be in a straight line to the stock axle yokes. Would i have to swap in full width or one ton axles?

I know i'm dreaming, but hey a man can dream.

Any other information that would be helpful is greatly appreciated.
    Hudson

Build Thread - http://www.ausjeepoffroad.com/forum/...d.php?t=121903

No Amount Of Money Is Worth Your Sanity.

ohhhh, this is good. I like.

DO IT!